JOE’S JOURNEY

FRIDAY, DECEMBER 4, 2015

PREPARING FOR MY SURGERY

It’s been almost a year since my last blog entry.  I’ve missed all my readers.  I’m happy to report that my heart is strong and I’ve been adjusting to my new hip. It’s getting stronger everyday, still some discomfort, but I’m on the right track.  I’m able to sleep at night and get in and out of a car with no pain.  It’s a great feeling.  I can once again enjoy the things I love, running, working out and biking.  I have a new dog and we take daily walks.  She’s a great comfort to me.  I can cut the grass or do projects around the house without saying “ouch, ouch I hurt so bad” all the time.

I’m about to share another story with you.  It’s going to sound like an instant replay, going back to my first hip replacement.  I had a great summer.  I ran with fast runners and got my runners high, smiling the whole time.  I was actually thinking of running a half marathon this year, that’s how good I was running.

Then one beautiful morning I was running with some friends when I felt a sharp pain in my left groin.  I decided to stop and walk and I told my friends to continue without me. That night I iced my groin and took a couple days off from running.  I was feeling pretty good.  So I went to work out.  I could feel the pain as I lifted my leg over the weight bench, so I went back to icing my groin.  How exciting!

The following Monday I decided to run by myself, I didn’t want to hold anyone up.  I started off slow, about a mile into my run I felt a sharp pain in my groin and I mean a sharp pain. OUCH!!  As I continued with my training program I began to get tired from protecting my hip.  I wasn’t sure if it was my hip or maybe a pulled groin muscle.  The pain in my groin area was waking me up at night.  Once again it was painful to cut the grass or even sit down and get back up.  I thought with all the icing and hip exercise I could last another year, but wrong.  The pain was getting bad.

It was time to see my doctor.  He took x-rays which showed arthritis and bone on bone in the left hip.  My surgery is scheduled for March, so I’ve got a ways to go.  I will have ANTERIOR approach where they go through the groin area so my recovery time is shorter.

I stopped running as the pain is to much to handle.  It’s even tough walking my dog without limping.  I put together a nice easy workout program until my surgery. I need to keep in shape!!  I will continue training after my surgery.

Last night was a bad night, I had a lot of pain in my groin and hip.  When I walked my dog this morning I almost fell down from the sharp pain in my groin.  Every step I took was a struggle.  It’s going to be a long three months.  I will have to fight harder realizing it will take sometime to be the athlete I was before surgery.  Hey friends, I think I am pretty awesome – just kidding.  I will have eight stints and two new hips, that adds up to a new body, hmm…   But I won’t stop training.  I thank the Lord for being by my side, without God I would never be able to get through each day.

tumblr_m8psdnBOGG1ry2xw8o1_500

About nokomisjoe

JOE'S JOURNEY FIGHTING TWO MAJOR SURGERIES LOVE TO RUN, LOVE TO WORKOUT, LOVE RUNNING MARATHON
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

